Asghar Farhadi appointed Zurich Film Festival Jury President –

Asghar Farhadi will head the jury for the International Feature Film Competition at the Zurich Film Festival this year.

Farhadi will judge the competitive category of the festival together with the Swiss director Petra Wolpe (Divine Order) and producer Daniel Dreyfuss (All Quiet on the Western Front).

Renowned Producer Christine Vachon (Boys don’t cry) will head the sidebar of the Focus Competition festival. Vachon will be joined by Swiss filmmaker Fred Baillif.A family), Austrian director Katharina Mückstein (Animal), editor Maria Fantastica Valmori (One more time to break) and Swiss journalist Roger Shavinsky.

The documentary film competition of the festival will be headed by Alexander Nanau, Atanas Georgiev, Joel Bertossa, Nina Numankadich and Sushmit Gosh.

“We are delighted that two-time Oscar winner Asghar Farhadi is returning to ZFF to lead the Feature Film Competition Jury,” said Christian Jungen, Artistic Director of the Zurich Film Festival. “Producer Christine Vachon and documentary filmmaker Alexander Nanau are also familiar with ZFF. Our competitions are aimed at promoting new talent, so all participants are pleased that the jury is headed by such inspiring greats of international auteur cinema.”

All three juries will present the prestigious Goldeneye Award to the winning films. The award is accompanied by a cash prize of CHF 25,000.

Zurich takes place from 22 September to 2 October.

As previously announced, Sally El Hosaini’s latest work Swimmers open the festival. The film is based on the inspiring true story of the Mardini sisters.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: