“Black”, “Pachinko”, “Encanto”, still – the KristenBellTattoos.com

ABC writers BlackApple TV+ PachinkoOscar-winning Disney film Encanto and satire by Adam McKay Don’t look up are among the recipients of the 46th Annual Humanitas Awards. The awards were presented Friday afternoon at a ceremony at the Beverly Hilton.

The Humanitas Awards have been presented since 1973 to empower television and film writers whose work explores the human condition in a detailed and meaningful way. Authors in 10 categories receive cash prizes of $10,000.

Other winners include Nanfu Wang for her documentary. In one breathTed Harris for writing the script for Ted Melfi’s film. Starling starring Melissa McCarthy and Kevin Kline and Marissa Jo Serar for writing the ABC anthology series episode “Mother and Son”. Women of the Movement.

Also during the ceremony, hosted by Larry Wilmore, Humanitas presented Ukrainian filmmakers with the Kieser Award and Starz President and CEO Jeffrey Hirsch with the Voice for Change Award for the network’s #TakeTheLead initiative. There were also recipients of the Carol Mendelsohn College Award for Drama and the David and Lynn Angell College Award for Comedy, which honor college screenwriters.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Children’s TV show

El Deafo: Written by Ceci Bell and Will McRobb

Comedy feature film

Don’t Look Up: Screenplay by Adam McKay

comedy teleplay

Blackish: “If a Black Man Cries in the Woods…”: Screenplay by Robb Chavis


In the same breath: Nanfu Wang

Feature drama film

Starling: screenplay by Matt Harris

Dramatic teleplay

Pachinko: “Chapter One”: scripted by Soo Hye

family function

Encanto: Written by Charise Castro Smith and Jared Bush

Limited series, TV movie or special

Women of the Movement: Mother and Son: Screenplay by Marissa Jo Serar

Short film

The Girls Are Strong Here: Screenplay by Scott Burkhardt

web series

Disappointments: Written by Rich Burns

Carol Mendelsohn College of Drama Scholarship

Hayley Tibbenham

Paul Coleman

Laura Valin-Penalba

David and Lynn Angell Comedy College Fellowship

V signs

Rafael Diez

Tex Gresham

Members of New Voices

Albert M. Chan, Devon Kerr, Maurizio Ledesma, Maira Aquino, and Shannon T.L. Kerns (2022)

Andrew Bluestone, Brian Stumpnitsky, Emma Soren, John Lowe and Catherine Ruppe (2021)

Kara Danielle Brown, Chris Gibbons, Eric Anthony Glover, Eugene Ramos and Lena Parodi (2020)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: